No speeding tickets are welcomed when a police officer issues them, but certain ones in Florida can be especially bad. Speeding tickets for going well over the speed limit in the state don’t merely come with fines and points. Some go so far as to make speeding a criminal offense.
If you’re charged with criminal speeding in the state, you need a speeding ticket defense lawyer from Florida on your side. The ticket is no longer a matter of fines and increased insurance premiums, but could result in a conviction that remains on your record and has other dire consequences. A speeding ticket defense lawyer from Florida knows the state’s laws and can help you fight the ticket to reduce the likelihood of conviction.
What is Criminal Speeding in Florida?
Like most states, Florida speeding ticket points and other consequences are based on how far over the posted speed limit you’re driving at the time of the ticket.
Speeding up to 29 miles per hour over the posted limit comes with fines amounting to a few hundred dollars and a few points on your license. Most tickets come with three or four points, which remain on your record for three years and are cumulative.
At 30 or more miles per hour over the posted limit, the act of speeding becomes criminal. Going 30 to 49 mph over the posted limit is a misdemeanor, and anything 50 or more mph over the limit can result in a felony conviction.
High Speed Laws in Florida
The state’s high speed laws bring steep fines, license suspensions and Florida speeding ticket points in addition to the applicable criminal charges. Precisely how severe these consequences are depends on how fast you’re going and whether you’ve been convicted of criminal speeding before.
A conviction of 30 to 49 miles per hour over the speed limit comes with a misdemeanor that remains on your record. You’ll also have to pay a large fine and court fees, and more than four Florida speeding ticket points will go on your record. If this isn’t your first time going so face, your license may also be suspended.
A conviction of speeding 50 or more miles per hour over the speed limit is a felony offense. In addition to the criminal charge, an initial conviction alone comes with a $1,000 fine, court fees and points. A second offense comes with a $2,500 fine and one-year license suspension, and a third conviction will bring a $5,000 fine and ten-year suspension.
These consequences are even more severe if the conviction occurs in a school or construction zone, in which case there may also be a charge of reckless driving.
How to Overcome Criminal Speeding in Florida
With such significant consequences on the line, a criminal speeding ticket isn’t one that you want to fight on your own. Instead, you need a speeding ticket defense lawyer from Florida who knows the laws and can argue persuasively on your behalf. Hiring a lawyer will give you the best chance of getting the ticket reduced or dismissed altogether.
Looking for a Criminal Defense Lawyer? Schedule a Free Consultation Today.
Why Do You Need a Lawyer in a High-Speed Speeding Ticket Case?
Simply put, you need a lawyer in a high-speed speeding ticket case because you need the ticket dismissed — or at least reduced to a non-criminal violation. If something goes on your criminal record and you lose your license, the consequences could be devastating and long-lasting.
Additionally, this isn’t a type of ticket that the average person can argue themselves out of. Sob stories rarely work with high-speed tickets, and the prosecution will invest time in pursuing a conviction. The only solution is to have a lawyer who knows how to defend drivers on your side.
Your Criminal Defense Lawyer is Here to Save You! Schedule a Free Consultation Today.
20 Years+ Experience
DID YOU KNOW?
“If your injuries are minor, an attorney may pass on your case because the expected monetary compensation will likewise be minimal.”
Can you get a felony for speeding in Florida?
Speeding 50 miles per hour or more over the speed limit is a felony offense in Florida.
Are speeding tickets criminal offenses in Florida?
At 30 or more miles per hour over the speed limit, speeding tickets may carry criminal charges in Florida.
How long do you have to pay a speeding ticket in Florida?
You have to pay a speeding ticket in Florida within 30 days after receiving your citation. Take note that even though you paid for the full amount, if you don’t “elect” to attend Defensive Driver Improvement Course, the points associated with the citation go on your driving record for 36 months. While you do not have to appear in Traffic Court, you are automatically adjudicated “Guilty.”
How many mph over the speed limit is reckless driving in Florida?
If they drive 30 or more miles per hour over the posted limit in Florida, an individual may be charged with reckless driving. This is per Florida Stauses Section 316.192, which states that “any person who “drives a vehicle in a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.”
What do I do if I get a speeding ticket in Florida?
If you get a speeding ticket in Florida, you have three options to move forward. You may pay the appropriate fines by visiting the Clerk of Court or online. If you pay the fine, it is considered a conviction, and points will be assessed to the driver’s record. You may also contest your citation to the Clerk of Court, which could lead to removing your citation, imposition of penalty, or completion of a driver improvement course. Lastly, to lessen the fees you’re required to pay, you may also take a driver improvement course.